Fast Facts


Saturday, April 27, 2019


Windy Acres Kubb Stadium
10595 Rogers Rd.
Alanson, MI 49706


Confirm via text with Phil Dickinson at (231) 330-1794


Facebook Event

ALANSON, Mich. — Spring is coming. However, many in the Midwest may not believe this statement. We’ve been dealt with a long, snowy winter encroaching into their spring plans. But there is one sure sign that spring is coming,and that’s kubb returning to Nothern Michigan. The Great Lakes 1v1 Kubb Tournament will be held on April 27, 2019 in Alanson. Once again, the Great Lakes Kubb Club will host the tournament on the 17-acre grounds of Phil and Stormy Dickinson’s family property.

The tournament will feature nine rounds of the DMK Klassic system where individual players will battle against each other fighting for the top eight spots, which will be seeded in a championship bracket. The tournament will use the Kubb United Rules for Open Play v1.2 ruleset. Players will remember that this includes the neighbor rule, the 100 percent in rule, and pitches marked with painted lines instead of stakes. The top three finishers will receive unique Viking shield trophies. There will also be an award for the individual who has the most “friendly neighbors” during the day and they will win the Mister Rogers Friendly Neighbor Award. Also, all participants will receive a custom-made drink holder.

This year will not feature the king slaying competition, but instead there will be a “kast and blast” contest. Each person will inkast 10 kubbs and will try to knock down as many kubbs with one throw of a baton. The inkastre gets to raise the kubbs any way he or she chooses. Each contestant will get three attempts and will keep their best score to determine the winner.

Free camping is available on site with electric and water hookups, if needed. There will be a bonfire and friendlies being played on-site Friday and Saturday nights, and the members of the Great Lakes Kubb Club will be providing food on both Friday night and Saturday.

Last year’s tournament had 18 players from three states —Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin—participate. John Oman defeated Phil Dickinson in the finals, while Joe Hrejsa finished third. Jesse Fraim won the consolation bracket while Bryan Jones won the king slaying competition.

Photo courtesy of Jesse Fraim.