KASSON, Minn. — After a year off for the pandemic, Kubbing to Kick Cancer returned to Kasson for the eighth time. Known as a showcase for Midwest kubb talent and extreme weather, this year’s Kubbing to Kick Cancer didn’t disappoint. A slate of 23 teams battled amongst themselves (and a strong wind) for seven rounds of the Klassic system before being seeded into three brackets (championship, silver, bronze).

In the Championship Bracket, number one seeded Science for the Win (Steve Dolan, Christopher Jones, Demian Moore) started out shaky, with a loss in game one to the eighth seeded KubbFellas (Adam Dohm, Jim Powell, Chad Stute). These Kubb Society rivals would battle to a three game match, the only in the quarter-finals. While Science for the Win was able to hang on and avoid being upset, number seven Chippewaffles (Adam Holtz, ) and number six Beauty School Graduates (Tim Motzko, Andrew Thibodeau) were each able to beat their higher seeded opponents.

In the semi-finals, Science for the Win and Yarrow!! (Matt Erdman, Jason “J.P.” Larson) played a long two games, where it looked at times like neither team was going to finish it. Eventually Yarrow!! punched their finals ticket 2-0. Chippewaffles and Beauty School Graduates traded wins in their first two games, with Beauty School Graduates eventually winning the rubber match.

In the final match, Beauty School Graduates opened two-for-two on 8 meters getting some kubbs in play early. From there the teams traded baselines back and forth until some unfortunate bounces on the Kasson “trampoline” turf turned into penalty kubbs that ate up too many batons. Eventually Yarrow!! would walk away with game one. Beauty School Graduates came out very strong in game two, which led to a victory for them, sending the match a third game. Ultimately, Yarrow!! won game three of the well-fought match to take home top honors.

Photo of Yarrow!! at 2021 Kubbing to Kick Cancer.

Yarrow!! at 2021 Kubbing to Kick Cancer posing with their trophies.

In the third place game, Science for the Win dropped game one to a very hot Chippewaffles team. Science for the Win got back to their early-in-the-day form for games two and three to take the last spot on the podium.

Full qualification and bracket results can be found on the Tournament Director website.

Photos courtesy of Kubbing to Kick Cancer

Final Results

Championship Bracket

  1. Yarrow!! (Matt Erdman, Jason “J.P.” Larson)
  2. Beauty School Graduates (Tim Motzko, Andrew Thibodeau)
  3. Science for the Win (Steve Dolan, Christopher Jones, Demian Moore)

Silver Bracket

  1. Kubbcettes (Andy Lancette, Ben Lancette, Debbie Lancette)
  2. Chaska Kubb Club (Ford Rolfsrud, Trevor Bailey)
  3. Kubb’n With Fire (Aaron McKie, Tyson Batton)

Bronze Bracket

  1. Resting Pitch Face
  2. Brozerkerz
  3. Kubbilicious

Watch Finals Match

Watch the archived live stream of the finals match on Facebook.

Note: the video ends before the match is over due to the phone overheating