Photo courtesy of Chaska Kubb

Fast Facts


Sept. 30, 2017
8 a.m.


Chaska, Minnesota


RSVP “Going” on Facebook



Facebook Event

CHASKA, Minn. — America’s original singles tournament is coming back for their fifth year on Sept. 30, 2017. Hosted by the Chaska Kubb Club, and sponsored by JP’s Backyard Games, the 1v1 World Kubb Championship set out to decide who the best kubb player in the world is. Competing one-on-one with no teammates makes players compete in all phases of the game and is one of three known 1v1 kubb tournaments in the United States—the others are held in Michigan and North Carolina.

Veteran’s Park in Chaska, Minnesota plays host to the tournament this year and Jason Larson is once again the tournament director. For a $20 entry fee, players will compete in seven rounds of qualifying matches, consisting of best of one game with a 25 minute time limit. After seven rounds, the top 16 players will be seeded into a championship bracket. The players ranked 17 through 32 will be seeded into the silver bracket.

The first round of championship bracket moves to a best of three games format with a one hour time limit. Once the tournament reaches the top eight, matches will remain best of three games but will no longer have a time limit.

The 1v1 World Kubb Championship will use U.S. National Kubb Championship rules as their base, but have several customized variations for this tournament.

  • The neighbor rule will be used. In the inkast phase, if a kubb comes to rest on top of another kubb, is not supported by the ground, and both kubb are deemed in-bounds, the inkasting player can put that kubb anywhere on the opposing player’s side of the pitch.
  • Instead of the opposing team being able to place a punishment kubb anywhere on their side, the opposing team takes the punishment kubb(s) over to the opposing side and must throw or drill it across the pitch to determine its placement.
  • Players will have the option to pull the center pin when blasting.
  • Players judge in/out calls from the center pin to the corner instead of end to end.

Darren Finger is the two-time defending champion of this event. Tournament Director Jason Larson says anyone who defeats a former champion of this event will win a prize.